RSS

Trying to fly over the cuckoo’s nest?

20 Jul

I work in acute psychiatry, I deal with the extremes on a daily basis. Even then, you don’t see this very often:

She’s somewhere in her early twenties, and had been phoning 112 persistently, but the operator had no idea what she was talking about. Police went in and found her, barefoot, with half her hair chopped off, the strands still clinging to her. She explained to the male officer that he had raped her, then went on about one side of her body being good and one being evil. And asked to be helped, not hurt. She couldn’t tell them het name, but she did wee in the car.

They phoned us, after taking her in to the station.

Her behaviour was erratic, she even tried to fly. She spoke like a child. She wanted to talk to the nurse but didn’t want to talk to him. She had no idea what she was doing, and was obviously hearing quite interesting things and when asked if she was hearing voices reacted as if it was an epiphany. I could make very little sense out of her. But, good to know that she had no intention to sleep with either the nurse or the senior officer. Not that either was thinking of that. I still don’t know her first name, but she tried to walk through me. All while holding on to a serene expression. Considering that she couldn’t even make sense out of the question of wether she wanted help and be admitted (I help myself, and I am both good and evil, please don’t hurt me? I will stay here then… -but you can’t stay at the police station- well that is your problem)…we decided to admit her under the mental health act.

She’s very unwell. And unsafe. What if she tries to fly off a balcony? Or cross the road for that matter?

She was happy to be admitted against her will, and thrilled that there was an ambulance coming because she wants to phone an ambulance because she needed help…..

 
2 Comments

Posted by on July 20, 2013 in Acute Psychiatry, Dear Diary, Work

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

2 responses to “Trying to fly over the cuckoo’s nest?

  1. Madelyn Griffith-Haynie, MCC, SCAC

    September 18, 2013 at 11:09 pm

    OMG – you are a warrior woman. I wish we had an “I was here & read” button – because I can’t force myself to “like” anything about acute mental illness.

    I recently went through a personal brush with a similar enough situation via my biz partner’s son, which did NOT end well (see When Breaking News Becomes Personal on ADDasmm) – so I know I could *never* do your job and even pretend I have stayed sane myself.

    My hat is OFF!
    ~~~~~
    Madelyn Griffith-Haynie, CMC, SCAC, MCC
    – ADD Coach Training Field founder; ADD Coaching co-founder –
    (blogs: ADDandSoMuchMore, ADDerWorld & ethosconsultancynz – dot com)
    “It takes a village to transform a world!”

     

Leave a Reply

 
