RSS

Resolution

02 Jan

So, it’s a new year. And while I have tons of ‘resolutions’ (aka intentions of improving things such as excercising more and being more frugal which I was going to do anyway, regardless of the date, and which I was working on before New Years too)… I have one resolution.

 

A brainwave idea, more like.

After ordering 230 euro’s worth of sale items on Asos, all of which I can use, really… I decided to quit clothes shopping for the rest of the year.

At first it was a guilt-driven idea, but when I think about it, it’s a good idea. I need to shop less, I need to spend less money on it, and a year is about long enough to get it out of my system and find a new way to deal with it.

I am allowed to buy underwear as needed, and socks and pantyhose (these tend to rip too often).

Receiving clothes is OK.

But, no clothes, no shoes, no accessories. I can MAKE stuff out of things I already have. I can learn to use a sewing machine to alter stuff, if my mum doesn’t hit me over the head with a roller pin out of frustration if I get it wrong again. (Really, how hard can it be?)

It’s a challenge.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on January 2, 2014 in Brilliant ideas, Dear Diary, Money

 

Tags:

3 responses to “Resolution

  1. rika9

    January 3, 2014 at 6:51 pm

    I should make a pledge like this, just to clear out my fabric stash. 😉 My best advice when learning to sew (and the one thing that changed everything for me when I was learning) is that its worth redoing something to get it right. Whenever something goes wrong, take a deep breath, kick something if you need to, laugh at yourself.. and then take that seam out and redo it as many times as you have to. The end result is worth the excersize in patience. PS – you better be photoblogging what you make!

     
    • busydarling

      January 3, 2014 at 7:54 pm

      I will, but I’m more likely to start off by just altering stuff so they fit. But thanks!

       

Leave a Reply

 
