RSS

Med me up, med me down

14 Aug

Sometimes I hate my meds, sometimes I don’t.

I hate how the pharmacist was rude about it, and how no matter what I said they still insisted the dose is too high. Based on guidelines for 12 year olds. Pointing out that I’m an adult didn’t help.

But I picked up a months supply after a discussion with the pharmacy assistant who read the children’s guidelines, she insisted on phoning the doctor about it. Because suddenly it’s a problem now that I was rendered stable enough to be sent to primary care.

And then two days later I felt as if my concerta is just…. Too much. Zoink.

Now I tried a lower dose today. And I felt better, but I’m not sure if it’s enough….

And wouldn’t it be cool to just function without all that hassle?

 
6 Comments

Posted by on August 14, 2014 in ADHD, adult ADHD

 

6 responses to “Med me up, med me down

  1. OutOfPLace

    August 15, 2014 at 6:50 am

    It’s frustrating to be so reliant on a pharmacist/doctor to feel normal. After being on those meds for over a decade, I start to lose my sense of which one is me: the balanced person when I’m on meds, or the creative unbalanced person when I’m not on meds.
    But I know I accomplish more when I’m on meds, and I’m a better person for other people to be around.
    Are you healthier and happier with the meds?

     
    • busydarling

      August 15, 2014 at 7:43 am

      Thanks for the reply! I do function better on them, and I am mentally healthier I suppose, but not happier per say.
      Normal would be handy sometimes, but I wouldn’t want to be normal always. Boring.
      I feel slow on a higher dose, and that doesn’t feel like me.

       
  2. OutOfPLace

    August 15, 2014 at 8:52 am

    Like a handy ‘normal’ superpower, so that you could be awesome most of the time but break out the normal side of you when you need it? :p
    I think I understand what you mean… Concerta tends to make me more focused but more ‘flat’ if that makes any sense.

     
    • busydarling

      August 15, 2014 at 8:53 am

      Yup. I am currently a mono focused zombie.

       
      • OutOfPLace

        August 15, 2014 at 9:15 am

        That really sucks – I hope at least your classes are going better than they were a while back?

         
      • busydarling

        August 16, 2014 at 3:49 pm

        Will find out soon. Had vacation!

         

Leave a Reply

 
