RSS

Energy

09 Sep

I wonder if this is a typical ADHD thing, or if it’s just something everyone deals with to some extent….

Just a little observation of mine lately:

It’s almost as if I have a certain threshold to pass before I’m fully ‘switched on’. For example: my time-per-patient has recently been changed from 20 minutes to 15 minutes. The result? I’m seeing most patients within 10 minutes (the actual allotted time per patient I’m supposed to be working towards). And I use the rest of the time to deal with other patient-care related stuff. Funniest part of all? I go home with more energy. 

Sometimes it’s like my brain has a sort of a flat-wave ‘zone’: not enough stimuli, and I find it hard to keep my brain ‘functioning’ well and sometimes I even struggle to kick start it. Perhaps it’s the stress-and-ADHD thing. You know, that ‘when the going get tough, the tough get going’ thing. I need to be challenged. If I get bored, I switch off. Get me switched on and I can do twice what ‘normal’ people can do. (Sometimes in half the time, like when I studied for the acute care exam) 

The only problem is: it can be equally hard to switch off by myself once I’m switched on, so I need to be careful in order to prevent burning myself out. 

Sometimes, I suppose, my brain seriously does not want to be phoned out of bed for THAT… I think all doc’s who have ever been on call know what I mean. 

 
1 Comment

Posted by on September 9, 2014 in adult ADHD, General Practice

 

Tags: , , , , ,

One response to “Energy

  1. Madelyn Griffith-Haynie, MCC, SCAC

    September 11, 2014 at 9:20 pm

    I have noted that “zone” as well – my metaphor is “juggling.”

    It’s no fun at all to juggle only “one thing at a time” — and It’s not compelling (or very interesting) to juggle below one’s abilities.

    I’m back, btw – following a t-totally sh***y year so far — domino problems from violence during gang mugging & my empathy-averse former landlord forcing me to move home and office the minute I got out of the cast.

    I’ll get over here as often as I am able – missed your voice.
    xx,
    mgh
    Madelyn Griffith-Haynie – ADDandSoMuchMore dot com
    – ADD Coach Training Field founder; ADD Coaching co-founder –
    “It takes a village to transform a world!”

     

Leave a Reply

 
