RSS

Non-perfectionist baking

25 Jan
Non-perfectionist baking

I tried this recipe from Sally’s Baking Addiction.  It’s ‘Blueberry rolls with sweet lemon glaze’. Yes, sometimes I’m a bit more successful in the kitchen than when I’m making coffee. I may even be -gasp- good at baking. And perhaps, if I applied myself, at cooking. The problem is, me and the kitchen aren’t the best of friends, unless I get to do something new and exciting when I’m in the mood for it.

My rolls turned out good, just perhaps indeed more suitable as a brunch or breakfast sweet -paired with Earl Grey tea- than as something to go with afternoon coffee. Calling them rolls is also perhaps not entirely accurate because they were deformed when I tried to fit them into a too-small oven dish before I remembered that we DO own a round cake tin.

It was a recipe to write down into my personal recipe book. Starting that was an ADHD-management thing and part of my eating-healthier plan originally. The first book is now almost full, but I should toss a few recipes that don’t belong in my go-to arsenal. One rule for getting in that book: it has to be GOOD.

Then the difference between the original recipe and what I wrote down struck me.

2015/01/img_4473.jpg

I wrote down the version I ended up doing… well…. minus a few mishaps.

See, perhaps it’s more an Afrikaans thing or a Busy Darling thing, but I like things that work without too much extra fuss.

  • Add the egg and only enough of the reserved flour to make a soft dough. I only needed 1/3 cup, but you may need the full 1/2 cup. Dough will be ready when it gently pulls away from the side of the bowl and has an elastic consistency.

  • On a lightly floured surface, knead the dough for about 5-6 minutes. Place in a lightly greased bowl (I used non-stick spray) and let rest for about 10 minutes.

  • Fill the rolls: After 10 minutes, roll the dough out in a 14×8 inch rectangle. Pour the sugared blueberries on top and gently spread them to cover the dough surface. Roll up the dough tightly. Cut into 11 even pieces and place in a lightly greased 9-inch round pan. I used a pie dish, lightly sprayed with nonstick spray. Loosely cover the rolls with aluminum foil and allow to rise in a warm, draft-free place for 2-3 hours. Here is what I do: heat the oven to 200F degrees. Turn oven off. Place rolls inside oven and allow to rise. *Do not* refrigerate the rolls at any point during or after rising.

Pardon me? Apart from knowing when dough is ready to be called ‘a nice soft dough’ (My grandma is somewhat a kitchen authority!) it works just as well to knead in the same bowl you mixed in, and to use the same bowl to let it sit in. Plus less to clean up! That being said, I do think the explanation of when the dough is ready is charming and gives it  nice passing-it-down feel. Just an example.

I think I’m a lot less of a perfectionist than Sally, and perhaps than most of the household/baking/crafting bloggers I come across. I think I’d have trouble finding enough followers because the main audience probably doesn’t consist of chaotic and somewhat creative creatures like me. “So you just toss in a bit of vanilla (or whatever you like) and knead for a few minutes with a dash of something in the lines of milk” may be a bit hard for others to follow. But that’s how I roll.  I have also already dreamed up 10 variations on this recipe and thought of 5 other uses for the lemon glaze.

Perfectionism seems to be a ‘thing’ amongst women, but I checked both my X chromosomes and that gene was nowhere to be found. That’s OK, TDH is enough of a perfectionist for both of us.

So, here’s how to bake non-perfectionist style:

  1.  Make a list of what you still need, forget to check how much milk there actually is in the fridge. There’s a milk bottle in the fridge, so that counts, right?
  2. Go back to the supermarket because TDH finished the last bit of milk that morning and now there’s no milk left. Ask TDH he needs something else while you’re there.
  3. As a result, start a bit too late, hope the dough rises quickly. Be relieved when your guests let you know they’ll be an hour late.
  4. Do not gather your ingredients beforehand. Rather, just push everything on the counter to the side. Space! Get started.
  5. Roughly follow instructions. Decide to use cream instead of milk anyway, because you’ve got no other use for the cream and it’s milk-ish, right? Also: try to use the same measuring cup for almost everything. Use actual tea- and tablespoons.
  6. When you get to the kneading part, see above
  7. Decide to skip the part where the dough sits for 10 mins, then realise the counter needs to be cleaned before using it to roll on. Clean part of counter, let the dough sit while the counter is wet. No idea how many minutes, but start tidying up and spraying the shower for cleaning in the meantime.
  8. Fail to read the instructions about the rolling, end up with a somewhat less practical thing to cut into 11-ish pieces. They will not resemble rolls.
  9. Use butter as an anti-stick layer for the oven dish, remember how genius this trick your grandmother taught you was.
  10. Squish the ‘rolls’ in the square oven dish. They just fit. Oh well. Put in the oven to rise, like the instructions said, because that sounds like a good idea.
  11. Remember you have a round 9 in cake tin. Look for it everywhere, send TDH a whatsapp asking where it is just before finding it where it was supposed to be.
  12. Apply butter to it, this time thinking about how butter probably has less nasty chemicals than anti-stick spray.
  13. Remove rolls from oven, put them in the cake tin and let them continue their -eh- up-rise. Clean kitchen, living room and bathroom in the meantime.
  14. Make the glaze. Use a kitchen scale to measure the sugar. Use guesstimation to measure the rest.
  15. Greet TDH, who just came home with milk, with a taste of the lemony glaze.
  16. Ponder on the geniality of using the oven to let the dough rise as you simply turn up the oven temperature in order to bake the rolls after they had risen enough .
  17. After a few minutes start wondering if they’re supposed to smell that strong already.
  18. After a few minutes more rush into the kitchen because something’s burning. Turns out sugar/blueberry juice dripped from the cake tin and is now burning on the oven floor.
  19. Switch off oven, clean it, try to google how to quickly clean it, then just scrape it off.
  20. Switch oven on again, this time successfully bake the rolls, glaze them and serve them.

Hmm. Delish.

2015/01/img_4474.jpg

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on January 25, 2015 in adult ADHD, Creative Spirit!, Random

 

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
