RSS

No longer tolerating meds?

14 Jun
No longer tolerating meds?

A brief history.

I started taking Ritalin and then Concerta about 3 years ago, maybe a bit more. I remember how calm I became the first time I took it. I then eventually ended up taking 72mg of Concerta each morning, and 54 in the afternoon.

Last year, when I went off the Pill and we opted for non-hormonal contraception instead… or after I settled into a more natural rhythm? I suddenly found myself not tolerating the higher doses as well. I went down to 54mg and 36mg and sometimes used Ritalin when I didn’t want to use another dose of Concerta. I ended up using 36mg and 18mg for a few months.

And now I’m having some trouble staying focused on my work but I’m too scared to take half a tablet of Ritalin (which I eventually just did) because it feels too strong now. I don’t know why that is.

A few weeks ago I started swimming on Saturday mornings, in order to get fitter. Because I wanted to see how it goes without… and because I exercise better without meds, I didn’t take anything on Saturdays. I also started taking vitamin supplements.

About a week and a half ago I felt really awful on Friday, figured it must be the allergies. I felt better in the evening and on my med-free Saturday. I skipped Sunday too. I only took the 18mg on Monday because I had this idea that I want to see how it goes. I had some trouble with it on Monday, my mind being too busy.

Took my normal dose on Tuesday and it felt horrible.

Took 18mg on Wednesday and it felt half as horrible, but still found myself waiting for it to wear off so I can feel normal again.

And that was the last time I took it, until now.

I was hyper, but pretty focused and such, for my doing at least.

I don’t know why.

Perhaps I’m just in a good spot ‘naturally’. I mean, I’m having trouble studying but that’s about the hardest thing for me to do!!

 
3 Comments

Posted by on June 14, 2015 in ADHD, ADHD in women, adult ADHD

 

Tags: , , , ,

3 responses to “No longer tolerating meds?

  1. theeditorsjournal

    June 15, 2015 at 3:41 pm

    And there echoes my perma-fear of getting involved in that whole cycle of med taking. Don’t want no messing with the brain.

     
    • busydarling

      June 15, 2015 at 5:43 pm

      Oh. What I like about the stimulants is that I have control over it. I can decide to take it and it works for x hours, if it sucks then I don’t take it.
      Supposedly you need a week for your system to fully clear it but my personal experience is that I am fine the same evening. Two days and I am not even ‘used’ to it any more.

       
    • busydarling

      June 15, 2015 at 5:44 pm

      And thanks for stopping by!!

       

Leave a Reply

 
