RSS

A Supergirl!

30 Oct
A Supergirl!

The Busy Baby is a girl. 

Daddy’s little princess and mum’s supergirl. 

I’m having a little girl. I’m thrilled. Not that I wouldn’t have liked a boy too, but it’s a girl and I am happy about it. Then I realised what a responsibility raising a girl is. I think many people think of girls as soft and pink and sweet (have you seen baby stores and even toy stores?). Thing is: I know better. This little lady will look at me to see what being a woman is. She will come into a world where she is still told -more than boys- to be the princess. It’s up to us to teach her that princesses grow up to be queens, and that boys play super heroes but girls can be super heroes. And also that she doesn’t have to be a super hero. It also means I have to model healthy womanhood to her, despite my history of anorexia and other stuff. I don’t want her to have to go through that. I can feel her ‘presence’, sort of how you know someone is in the room without looking. I think she’s a strong one. Raising a strong girl is going to be a tough but rewarding task. 

  
I bought her her first skirt, because I felt like I had to. Everyone else will be dressing my child for the first 6 months or so! It’s dark grey with bright flowers and she won’t fit it as a newborn. Skirts and dresses are fun! I was a but disappointed in Dutch brand Lief! They used to sell pink baby clothes that said ‘lief!’ (sweet) on them for girls and ‘stoer’ (tough) for boys in bright light blue. They no longer have them. From the moment I first saw them, I wanted to dress my future baby girl in a ‘stoer’ shirt. Because girls are tough and because it’s fun. 

Announcing the gender to the future grandparents was fun. We had a get together with both sets and I made very very pink cupcakes that were white on the outside. (I forgot to take a pic of them!) I had to search the entire city for food colouring because essentially the Dutch don’t know how to kitchen. When I found it I went for light pink but it was a tad stronger than I thought so I ended up with raspberry pink cupcakes and a small cake (recipe was enough for a small cake, it said…). Anyhow. My mum was harassing me about the gender since we had the sonogram and begged for a cupcake all the way to TDH’s parents’ place. She was so disappointed when I finally unpacked white cupcakes!  Everyone was excited to discover that she’s a girl. Not that everyone needed a pink and white cupcake to know the gender: TDH’s mum had already bought a girls’ romper suit!
And this is me at 20 weeks.  

 

 
7 Comments

Posted by on October 30, 2015 in Busy Baby

 

Tags: , , ,

7 responses to “A Supergirl!

  1. Sofia @ Currentlylovingsimplicity

    November 6, 2015 at 1:11 pm

    Congrats on having a girl! I lived in Utrecht for a while and I really like the Dutch gender reveal traditions. I wish you all the best when raising her, you sound very prepared! Modelling a strong woman is so important. I want to do the same for my children one day.

     
    • busydarling

      November 6, 2015 at 1:46 pm

      Thank you! You mean ‘beschuit met muisjes’, pink or blue storks and the birth cards?
      Hope you have a girl one day!

       
      • Sofia @ Currentlylovingsimplicity

        November 6, 2015 at 2:08 pm

        Yes exactly!

         
      • busydarling

        November 6, 2015 at 2:13 pm

        Hehe. I’m not sticking half a blow up stork on my window, and I might reluctantly send out a few cards and serve thick dry crackers with butter and pink-and-white sugar covered anise seeds. Just to make the Dutch happy, to prevent them from being confused. This baby is 1/4 Dutch, after all.
        My sisters are upholding the South African tradition of a ‘kitchen tea’, same idea as a baby shower but without stick-the-nappy-on-the-baby games.

         
      • Sofia @ Currentlylovingsimplicity

        November 6, 2015 at 2:23 pm

        Oh I had never heard about the blow up stork, I guess I’d stop there, too…

         
  2. Grief Happens

    November 10, 2015 at 4:20 am

    Congratulations!

     

Leave a Reply

 
